Transitions

Day 26

The skateboard wheel met a tiny rock In graduation garb I fell skinned elbow – my drink in hand cursing I got back on the board pushing off flying - the morning before I graduated high school


When I was 18, I really thought it couldn't get any better. I had three very close friends, lots of exciting drugs and independence right around the corner. Little did I know that that independence wasnt what I thought it would be. Only a week after I graduated I would be dropped off in the desert. At a transitional housing apartment. With a huge klonopin hangover.

That place gave me time to “sober” up. Alone, in a studio apartment with a black and white television. A greened leather couch. I remember doing nothing. Writing a little bit in a journal realizing for the first time in my life. I was 'free'. I tried to take everything in.

The cars that went by. I hadnt realized the smoke inhalation would be so bad from an active street.

The sounds of my upstairs neighbor getting plowed because she took in guys from the aforementioned active street.

The older man who would sit outside my apartment, waiting for me to come out so he could bum a smoke.

It was the transition I loved and miss.

100DaysToOffload, visit and write more

#100DaysToOffload #Poetry #Poem